Singular

everyone’s got a girl or a guy
and I’ve just got my late night sighs
wringing these hands together
now my heart’s made of leather
a patchwork of textures
are only full of lectures
I am strung around
tightly wound
singular
there is a singularity
in being alone
somewhere around the bend
will come a train
I hadn’t fastened my seat belt
because I never saw it coming
the eventual rumbling of the tracks
the fasteners
the gravel
I never heard the horn sound
and we are
caught a deer in the head lights
blinding lights
pupils contracting
There was the path
we made
The truth is…there are no card tricks
no bunny ears out of hats
no sleight of hands
just a train barreling
headlong towards you

Tagged

Leave a Reply

