wagon

you were always golden in my eyes
When I handcrafted, sanded all the rough edges
there wasn’t a blemish in you
I fitted the wheels around you
like slipping on Cinderella shoes
they were perfect
as we oiled them
until they spun forwards and backwards
blurring like an alien disc
and the pinewood resin aroma
transports me to my old grandfathers clock
flushed red
wheeling down the pavement 
flashing your red paint
that wagon
with splintered spokes
ran far away
and that handle scrapped
led me to waste
but you will always be
the only wagon for me

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

