A float

I am afloat
a log surfing
over waves and currents
at sea
I am drenched
to the very essence
I live always divided
between good and evil
I am thoughtful and thoughtless
alive but dead
humanity crying “save us”
and I will look down and whisper “I can’t”
I hear the sound of thunder from above
we meddle in the inconsequential
or the iota choices prove fatal?
I have not much to give
in this state of a drift
a tawdry raft as a home
filter rain water
slake my thirst
survive on raw fish
and squabbling with sea gulls
rocked to sleep by the tide
a glimmer of land in the horizon
or is it a mirage?

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

