Athlete

please give me some respite
make my shoulders a little light
can’t pretend you ain’t trapped in my mind
when thoughts sprouted from wild vines
self doubt on the eaves
be hanging on every grief
but you can’t be defining me
no you can’t crush these tea leaves
I’ve made time
committed no crime
passed the ball into your court
don’t be quick to abort
but I’m different now
got more wrinkles
sense of self not easily crinkled
I’m not dependant on your approval
I’m not about easy removal
dismissal will be your loss
you ain’t’ the sun
you ain’t my boss
I possess qualities in the minority
I could love you more than the majority
I ain’t no bystander in life
but an athlete with the line in sight

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

