Bowling Affect

I just went bowling with my two friends tonight.

I found out that I’m horrible at bowling. Well I always knew that I was bad, but tonight confirmed my doubts. Somehow I always do better in the first round than in the second.

I think bowling really shows what kind of a person you are.

We got the perfectionists, that aren’t satisfied with nothing less than a strike.

You got people that just don’t care and throw the ball anyway they want (and still manage to hit pins).

You have people like me that are just happy for the ball to hit the pins.

Then you got the unhappy bowlers and boring bowlers that hit the pins but are never quite satisfied.

It’s funny seeing people’s reactions. I’m excited anytime I hit more than 7 down. And if I get a strike, I get so enthusiastic and happy. Heck, I get happy when I get a spare.

I try to enjoy the game, no mater how bad I might be doing. And this “affect” makes all my friends happy as I make fun of myself (or encourage them), in bowling.

In the end, it’s not how well I do, but how much fun we have together. I guess I’m not prone to be competitive by nature.

4 thoughts on “Bowling Affect”

  1. HAHAHA!!!! Oh goodness….I think I could have written this. I am SO bad at bowling. I try not to let it bother me but I hate ‘failing’….so I’m like you and I have to start acting silly before I get discouraged. I don’t think I’ve ever scored over 100. ย  ย  …You’re not alone!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I hate it because it makes my fingers hurt really bad… then I changed my grip so that my thumb and middle fingers were kind of side to side instead of the regular grip people do, like with the palm facing towards the pins. When I did that, my fingers stopped hurting, I got three strikes in a row, and won the game. ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. @Happily_Married_Guy – that’s a good change up. When I started bowling how my friends I started using this thumb, middle finger and finger near the pinky grip. my fingers started hurting, and my form was still bad. @Linley_K – I had a score over 100 a few times, but my last game was only 88. It’s almost embarrassing that you only have a score of 35 on your 4th round. 

  4. Yeah, I still use the thumb and two middle fingers, it’s just all the pressure is off them this way and it’s much easier to make a straight shot with them sideways instead of palm facing forwards towards the pins. Make sure the arm is straight not curved. Also, to get a strike, don’t hit them straight on, try hitting between the very middle pin and the pin next to it. Gets a strike every time if you hit it right.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.