Some thoughts…

I used to be a huge YouTube addict. I could watch multiple videos in an hour my senior year in High School. One video led to another and eventually I would be watching a video on how Elephants are able to artistically express themselves through painting. But I don’t watch YouTube any more. Probably because of how much trash and junk is on that site now. Just browsing over the front page and looking at the titles of videos already disturbs me.

Much of my “free-time” is listening to music right now. Music usually puts me in a move to relax, to release thoughts, emotions, and words that wouldn’t be expressed in any normal day setting. Although I’ve been fairly conservative for spending of money, I usually buy albums off of amazon mp3, albums that I might find interesting. Cd’s are for the bands that I really support. I’m the kind of person that gets hooked on specific bands and listens to all released and unreleased material that they have.

Watching television has become almost non-existent in college. The only shows that I faithfully follow in the Fall is House MD and Naruto. Both these shows I’ve watch since High School. House is interesting because the characters (mainly House) attract my attention and even though the mysteries have variation, the characters intrigue me. Naruto, likewise draws me in because perhaps it has the best animation I have ever seen and some of the best fights/ story lines that always make me think. In January I’ll be watching 24  and Lost.

Friends are kind of people where you can sit there silently and not make any conversation and it would be all right. There is no expectation always, but that you can sit there and be the person you really are. At the same time, friends are people you can say anything that is on your mind without feeling that you are judged.

Talking about ideas and events are simple to do. Talking about how you truly feel about your current predicament and situation can be very difficult to do. The person is very different then you and your feelings can be easily misunderstood. Entering into another person’s world is dangerous, but only when we are concerned more about a person then our own well being can intimacy and trust be built.

To be totally present and in reality could be the greatest talent that you could develop. When we recognize our finite our lives ours in an infinite Universe around us, we recognize our precious every breath really is. The man that is aware of the present moment as well as his limitations is the most dangerous man.

Television rots the brain and is really a lack of stimulation and relationships from true reality. Good televisions shows allow us to connect with one another and ponder our own existence in the world and how it may relate to to others. But Roller coaster, dancing, and 2012 movies are sometimes needed when the mind shuts off and we can just experience the moment of life or mock at the absurdity of the present moment. 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.