A Sift

 my body is sand sifting through
      a equilateral box
      where is your remembrance
           of the ones you love
        there like oil in water
        would you listen if I was to complain
     because i am terribly emotional
         and sometimes incoherent
          do you take words like a grain of salt
             and toss them around my fields
          just to choke my plants
            or should I be audacious enough
             to speak my mind?
     I am the cracked and uneven ground
     yet I always tread softly
        am I that old house on the outskirts of town
             where young children bravely come to play
               or to just hear the sound of their feet
             treading on my floor boards
             and the muffled cough
            from the dust saturated air
         Have we desired so much love
          that no one could possibly give?
            Are our hearts radically insatiable?
          and in the end we are a doll in an attic closet
            because we’ve been played with and done for
      and the intimacy that we so long to desire
           just a soft breath away
         Would you just lift me up
            just to allow me to fall?
             or can we spend some time
            all the time in the world
                 just to speak mind to mind
                  soul to soul
                 to find truth, beauty, and grace
                  through mere words
    
 
 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.