Entry number 1 for Summer

 Currently I’m listening to Bon Iver right now. It’s probably one of my favorite acoustic albums of all time. The album isn’t entirely acoustic, but pretty darn close. It’s a pretty sombre album, one lamenting the loss of love. Often the songs nearly reach a satisfying climax, but never reach such a point. And as I write, I think the album mirrors my life pretty closely. I’m still waiting for my main calling in life. School is now behind me. Graduation is done and over. Every good thing passes away, at least here on earth. I’m in Toronto right now, without the majority of my friends close by. I only have technology to contact them (phone, computer, and Skype). I could easily drop of the radar, hide away for a while. It’s easy to feel forgotten, to feel like no one really cares. I’m in a smaller house, a smaller room than at school. Life is completely different, no more classes, no more chapels, and no more late night adventures with friends. The future is uncertain of course.

You might ask question like: “Do you face a lot of anxiety about your circumstance?”

And I would answer: perhaps…maybe…not too much really because somehow I think God’s in control and I don’t think worrying will do anything.

You might ask another typical question like: “What are you looking into the future”

And I would answer: I can’t say for certain right now, so I won’t say anything for now, just that I will be serving God to my best ability.

It almost seems too trite to go into despair or depression because it’s not even worth it. I just choose to live everyday, being glad for what God has given me. I choose to continue because it’s the only thing I can really do in a world  that is unpredictable and uncertain. 

I’d like to say that I have it figured out, but then I would be lying to myself and to you.

But I have to say that I choose to remain confident in my gifts, my abilities, my intelligence, my love for others, my love for my family, my love for writing.

I choose to remain hopeful knowing my “goodbyes” are actually “see you laters” and “see you soon.”

And if anything I might be a Joseph in the land of Egypt, accepting my conditions gladly, having a deep faith in the God who I worship.

 

bring it on

 

1 thought on “Entry number 1 for Summer”

  1. wow, I feel like I could have written this myself. I’ve even been listening to Bon Iver a lot recently too. He is SO good. (btw, there’s a new album coming out June 21st) …Would you describe the feeling as restless? -Not knowing what’s ahead, eagerly anticipating it, even being equipped for what’s to come, but forced into patience….agh. I guess this is probably really good for us. Hang in there friend! 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.