i guess i got use to it all
  shield up
  safe boxes locked
  headed down hill
  drifting in with the river
 I know I missed the mark
  we are too often eclipsed
  and when I pray I hope you’ll hear me
 so keep on your pictures to yourself
 and bury all your dreams for a while
 I’ll have to leap before knowing 
  they all charged me plenty of fines
 and my debtors are coming back for their pound of flesh
  I wish it wasn’t true
  I wish you wouldn’t have lost
 a hallowed out heart memory goes 
  mistaken for the fortunate man
  slave me once or slave me twice
  fought off my demons another day
 and stretched myself a bit too far
  but don’t fade now my darling
  you won’t die too young
 and don’t succumb to your own tragedy
 i raise my flag not half-mast but full
   and cling to the fountain that we once drank from

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.