the apothecary’s remedy

We sat by the wall of time
 and put our finger tips at the cracks
 where outlets of water drained down, molding itself to the rough terrain
 so empty out all your stories from your storerooms
 and your melodramatic ramblings will fall on open ears
  I can’t wait to see you again 
 an open invitation, gift wrapped
 earnest supplication, wind bending trees
 flowers budding, eternally transparent
 into the next easy breath on porous skin
 the drowning of your eyes in mine
 where I was unlocked, slipping into a subterranean rest
  where I needed to remove the linchpin, the scroll unrolled from shelves to the floor
  Begrudgingly unraveled, pulling a stray string from a shirt
  Erroneously I believed I could keep the gold chests in me
 And yet the pirates boarded by port and starboard
 and pillage my valuables before I could shout “land ho!”
 From the vantage point of the crows nest I could see that
everything was grounded  in mortar and pestle 
 mixed with water
 tongue reviling
 the apothecary’s remedy
  infused with spices
 far better than my devices
 although I have my trepidation
 I look forward to illumination
 and to see a wide open field
 where the harvest is a plentiful yield
 

  

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.